Reader D.P. (and no, the P does not stand for Pogue) is concerned about a System alert that appears from time to time. Mr/Ms P writes:

I was recently scared by a sudden request that “PubSub Agent wants to use your confidential information stored in ‘idisk.mac.com (myloginname)’ in your keychain. Do you want to allow access to this item?” I deny access each time this message comes up (daily). Is this an attack or just a benign part of OSX 10.5.2?

Today’s Gambling Tip: When you have the choice to take either the Yes or No side of an Is This An Attack? bar bet, put your money on No. (Bonus tip: Ditto in regard to Is This a Virus? wagers.) Vegas will never give you such good odds.

This alert appears when you sync bookmarks with .Mac. Specifically, according to Apple, “The PubSub agent syncs the RSS read/unread status of bookmarked RSS feeds between computers using Mac OS X 10.5 that are syncing bookmarks via .Mac Sync.”

The next time the alert appears, just click Always Allow and you won’t be bothered again.

To comment on this article and other Macworld content, visit our Facebook page or our Twitter feed.
Related:
Shop Tech Products at Amazon
Notice to our Readers
We're now using social media to take your comments and feedback. Learn more about this here.