Deleting a Boot Camp partition

Reader Steve S. is finally ready to complete his transition from Windows to the Mac. He writes:

When I got my iMac three years ago, I was moving from a Windows-based experience. Naturally, I made a partition, installed Boot Camp, and set up 250GB of my drive for Windows. Three years later, I’m all Mac—no need for anything on the Windows partition. How do I delete it?

Getting rid of your Boot Camp partition is quite easy. Make sure that no user accounts other than your regular administrator’s account is logged on. Also, if you want any data stored on that Boot Camp partition, now’s the time to back it up. (Time Machine doesn't back up Boot Camp partitions.)

Launch Boot Camp Assistant (found in the Utilities folder inside your Applications folder), click the Continue button in the first screen, select the Create or Remove a Windows Partition option in the next screen, click Continue again, select the drive that has your Boot Camp partition, enable the Restore Disk to a Single Mac OS Partition option, and click Continue. You’ll be prompted for your administrator’s name and password. Click OK and Boot Camp Assistant will restore the disk to a single Mac OS partition.

Product mentioned in this article

(1 items)

Subscribe to the Help Desk Newsletter

Comments