Mac OS X team wins Wired Rave Award

Today's Best Tech Deals

Picked by Macworld's Editors

Top Deals On Great Products

Picked by Techconnect's Editors

Apple's Mac OS X team was named Software Designer of the year in the 2002 Wired Rave Awards, which celebrate "innovation and the individuals transforming commerce and culture." The winners are chosen by the editors of Wired magazine .

The Mac OS X team beat Butler Lampson and Chuck Thacker (Tablet PC for Microsoft), Christopher Montgomery (Ogg Vorbis for Xiphophorus Foundation), Ray Ozzie (Groove for Groove Networks), and Jordan Ritter (SpamNet for Cloudmark) to take the award.

Apple's Industrial Design Team was also nominated in the "Industrial Designer" category for their work on the flat panel iMac, but lost to Matias Duarte, Joe Palmer, and Andy Johnston for their work in designing Danger's hiptop communications device. Other "Industrial Designer" nominees were Chris Borroni-Bird and Ed Welburn (Hy-wire and AUTOnomy concept car for General Motors), Naoto Fukasawa and Ideo Japan (CD Player for Muji), and Teiyu Goto (Vaio W for Sony).

In the 2001 competition the Titanium PowerBook G4 won for "Most Wired Design," the Apple 17-inch Studio Display took "Most Wired Extra," and the company's "Rip. Mix. Burn" ad was named "Most Wired Ad Spot."

This story, "Mac OS X team wins Wired Rave Award" was originally published by PCWorld.

Note: When you purchase something after clicking links in our articles, we may earn a small commission. Read our affiliate link policy for more details.
Shop Tech Products at Amazon