Thomson and the false alarm

The preponderance of capital letters in reader M.M’s message hints that he's got the wind up due to an unexpected entry in Leopard’s sidebar. In a message titled POSSIBLE SECURITY ALERT: IMPORTANT, he writes:

I recently installed Leopard and set up Back to My Mac. Two days later, I noticed a PC server listed as “thomson” under my Sharing header in the Finder window. I can connect to it as a guest.

DOES THIS MEAN THAT SOMEONE HAS MANAGED TO INFILTRATE MY COMPUTER BY SUCCESSFULLY INSTALLING THEMSELVES AS A SHARED DEVICE VIA BACK TO MY MAC? If I’m not being a complete idiot and not done something stupid, could I be IN DANGER?

No.

I'll put down a fiver that says British Telecom is your ISP. Some BT-branded routers are re-branded Thomson SpeedTouch routers. What Leopard is showing you is that router.

Just so we’re clear:

YOU HAD EVERY RIGHT TO BE CONFUSED, BUT YOUR COMPUTER IS PERFECTLY SAFE.

Related:
Shop Tech Products at Amazon