When does Time Machine delete files that you’ve deleted from your Mac?

Deleting files in from your Mac affects the Time Machine snapshot, but you can go back to an archive.

time machine el cap icon 100645774 orig
Apple

Note: When you purchase something after clicking links in our articles, we may earn a small commission. Read our affiliate link policy for more details.

Glenn Fleishman is the author of dozens of books. His most recent include Take Control of Your M-Series Mac, Take Control of Securing Your Mac, Take Control of Zoom, and Six Centuries of Type and Printing. In his spare time, he makes Tiny Type Museums. He’s a senior contributor to Macworld, where he writes Mac 911.
  • Follow